When the US National Arena Soccer Team plays its final two tune-up games this weekend they will feature two of the top players in the game.  Two-time reigning MASL MVP Franck Tayou and 2014/15 MVP Leo Gibson will fortify the US roster for games in Rio Rancho, New Mexico on Friday and in Denver, Colorado on Saturday.

The US has struggled in compiling a 3-7 record (including 2-5 against neighboring Mexico) on their barnstorming tour while preparing for the World Minifootball Federation World Cup in Nabeul, Tunisia October 6-15, so the arrival of Tayou and Gibson could provide the team with a much-needed lift.

Unlike Mexico, who named their final World Cup roster earlier this week, the US has some tough final decisions to make.  The US roster for Tunisia will likely be announced early next week.

Among the players who will play only in the Denver game this weekend is Jay Hamilton, who was the first player in Professional Arena Soccer League history to score seven goals in a game, and earned caps on the USNAST in the 2008 Torneo Internacional de Futbol Rapido Monterrey.

USNAST General Manager Bernie Lilavois will assume the role of interim Head Coach for the team through the WMF World Cup.  The American Association of Soccer 5-6-7 announced today that Phil Salvagio would focus on the team’s arena soccer competitions while Lilavois would coach the minifootball games until a permanent coach can be found.

USNAST Roster Last or Current Team
Boris Pardo GK San Diego Sockers
Uzi Tayou D Soles de Sonora
Matt Germain D Turlock Express
Bobby Hurwitz D Cedar Rapids Rampage
Gordy Gurson M Cedar Rapids Rampage
Matt Clare M San Diego Sockers
Taylor Bond M Cedar Rapids Rampage
Franck Tayou F Soles de Sonora
Leo Gibson F Kansas City Comets
Hans Hassell D Colorado Blizzard
Marcus Jordan M Colorado Blizzard
Tristen Heath D Colorado Blizzard
Jay Hamilton M Colorado Blizzard
Casey Gasson GK Colorado Blizzard
Brice Colcombe D Colorado Blizzard
Justin Dzuba GK Colorado Inferno
 Head Coach & GM Bernie Lilavois
Mexico Roster Last or Current Team
Diego Reynoso GK Monterrey Flash
Raymundo Contreras M San Diego Sockers
Hiram Ruiz  M San Diego Sockers
Enrique Canez F Soles de Sonora
Raymundo Reza D San Diego Sockers
Juan Carlos Gonzalez M Ontario Fury
Erick Tovar F San Diego Sockers
Ivan Campos F Turlock Express
Jesus Belmonte D Turlock Express
Francisco Rivas M Rocky Mountain Bighorns
Neftali Garcia M Rocky Mountain Bighorns
Jorge Guzman D Rocky Mountain Bighorns
Blas Ramos D Rocky Mountain Bighorns
Jose Guzman M Rocky Mountain Bighorns
Head Coach Luis Borrego